Breaking News :

Former Lagos CP, Edgal Promoted To AIG


Former Commissioner of Police in charge of Lagos Police Command, Imohimi Edgal has been promoted to the rank of Assistant Inspector General of Police.

Edgal, who earlier served as Deputy Commissioner of Police, Operations of Lagos Police Command, later served as CP of Akwa Ibom State Police Command.

Edgal, a thoroughbred operational officer, is renowned for putting an end to the activities of Badoo gang in Ikorodu axis of Lagos State, among other security feats. He is among the nine CPs newly promoted to the next rank of AIG by the Police Service Commission.

According to a statement by the spokesperson of the commission, Mr Ikechukwu Ani, nine Deputy Commissioners of Police were promoted to rank of Commissioners of Police while over 20,356 senior police officers were also promoted.

According to the statement, the exercise was one of the decisions of the 11th plenary meeting of the commission held in Abuja on Wednesday, January 25th, presided over by its Chairman, Alhaji Musiliu Smith, a retired Inspector General of Police.

It further stated that the Commission also approved the promotion of three Chief Superintendents to Assistant Commissioners of Police, 1,577 Deputy Superintendents to Superintendents of Police and 2,293 Assistant Superintendents to Deputy Superintendents of Police.

The commission also approved the promotion/confirmation of 7,283 Assistant Superintendents (ASP11) to Assistant Superintendents of Police (ASP1), 9,072 Inspectors to Assistant Superintendents of Police (ASP11), 110 Inspectors promoted to Senior Inspectors.

According to the statement, “the new Assistant Inspectors General are; Aminu Saleh Pai, currently the Executive Secretary, The Police Multi Purpose Cooperative Society, Lagos; Dasuki Danbappa Galadanchi, currently the acting AIG, Force CID Annex, Lagos; Okon Etim Ene, currently CP Explosive Ordinance Disposal (EOD), Force Headquarters and Abang B. John, currently Commissioner of Police, Anambra State Command.

“Others are Joseph Gobum Mukan, currently CP Rivers State; Aji Ali Janga, currently CP Sokoto State; Mukaddas Mohammed Garba, presently CP Benue State Command; Habu Sani Ahmadu, presently CP Kano State and Imohimi Edgal, former Commissioner of Police Lagos and Akwa Ibom States Command.

“The Nine DCPs promoted to CPs are Abubakar Adamau Alhaji, presently DCP Operations, Rivers State; Benjami Nebolisa Okolo, currently at the National Defence College, Abuja; Abdul-Yari Laffia Shuyamu, presently DCP, Finance and Administration, Taraba State Command; Oyediran Adesoye Oyeyemi, DCP State CIID Ebonyi; Samaila Shu’aibu Dikko, DCP State CIID Adamawa and Jimwan David Dazong DCP Zonal CIID, Zone 12 Bauchi.

“Others are Monday Bala Kuryas, DCP Operations, Ondo State; Hussaini Rabiu, DCP, Operations, Imo State and Rabi Umar, former Assistant Force Secretary and presently DCP, Force Education, Force Headquarters, Abuja.”

Prince Chukwudi Timothy Samuel

Prince Chukwudi Timothy Samuel is the Chairman / CEO, MicMiraSteph Communications and Chief Media Director, Apex Reporters

Read Previous

Why I slept with my Daughter —(Usman momoh)

Read Next


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons